Winding Down From the Holiday

Christmas is behind us and New Year’s will be here in a few days. Looking at our tree, it looks so sad with all the presents gone. I love looking at the lights, especially at night if we have a fire going in the fireplace, but we haven’t really been cold enough for a fire lately. We didn’t have any snow for Christmas this year and that has been the case since we moved to Maryland. Snow seems to come in little bits until February. That’s when we get a lot…should I mention last year and the 3 feet plus snow storm that we got in one day?

cubsMy husband and sons (both human and furry) gave me a Cubs throw to keep me warm when I curl up on the couch and snuggle down to read. Go Cubs!!!!

Our pug only managed to get one present out from under the tree. He somehow managed to sniff out one of his new squeaky toys from among all the wrapped gifts. It was cute to watch him stretch his little body under the tree. He kept his back feet on the carpet and used his front paws to bat the package closed and then he tugged the string holding it together. After all of that effort, my husband and I let him have his toy. There is something so precious when a dog gets a new squeaky toy. He is just so exited and happy. He wore himself out playing with it. I was worried he would try to find his other gifts, so we moved them up higher.

suv-hooksMy husband also gave me one of the best gifts. It is a hook that attaches to the headrest of a vehicle. It holds my purse and that means it doesn’t get tossed around the backseat of the car when we are together. It also means that I don’t put it on the floorboard when it is wet. I can hook it behind the seat, his if he is driving, and I can reach for my phone or wallet. I never knew I needed it, but now that I have it, I wished I had it sooner.

Hope everyone had a wonderful holiday!!!

 

 

About lenalee91

Wife, mother, avid reader and maybe one day an author!!

Posted on December 28, 2016, in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I agree with JP. I love the feeling between the two holidays and wish it continued all year. Our dogs were the same. Funny how they get all worked up over the new toys isn’t it? I too have been enjoying my tree at night, but soon the house will feel empty when the decorations come down.

    Like

    • Our tree will come down on Monday unless my husband decides that it can go out one more weekend. The house always seems so empty once the tree comes down. It might be time to rearrange the furniture.(Husband and son will have many other things to do I’m sure). Pets are a true joy. I couldn’t believe how he was able to find his toy, but what amazed me more was that he didn’t pull out any of the other presents. He was just focused on his. Of course, he was rewarded for his efforts by getting the new toy early. We can’t say no to the little guy.

      Like

  2. I like the lull between the two holidays. In fact if I am honest I prefer New Year to Christmas. Hope you’re off work and enjoying it.
    JP

    Like

    • I only had Monday off before going back to work. I am covering my area by myself. It seems like a lot of employees called out sick which extends their holiday at the expense of their co-workers. Hope you and Guido have a wonderful New Years!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Going Gently

Moments in life...

myhusband&i

two guys making out & trying to make it

I Should Be Laughing

Moments in life...

Art By Yukari

Moments in life...

The Closet Professor

Moments in life...

Just Joshin

Moments in life...

