Stuffy, Tissues and Soup

So I caught a winter cold from work. One person has been sick going on three weeks. I am entering week two and my husband is still in week one. It is mainly a sinus and head cold. Not much coughing or sneezing. Just stuffed up and not sleeping well. At first I thought it was just due to the fact that we had been outside the day before raking and bagging the leaves. While I love looking at leaves, I tend to get stuffy when I actually play with them, so I hoped that it was just too much time outside, but I wasn’t so lucky. By the next morning, I felt horrible.

mrs_grass_noodle_soup_mix_smBefore I made him sick, my husband asked what I wanted and I said I wanted Mrs. Grass chicken soup. It was what we were given whenever we were sick growing up and I even now I always want a bowl when I’m sick. There is nothing quite like being curled up on the couch in your pajamas with a warm blanket and a mug of Mrs. Grass’ soup. Unfortunately we didn’t have any in the pantry so my wonderful husband went to three stores until he found it. 🙂

He started to make it and I told him to make sure the golden nugget was dissolved all the way. He said there wasn’t a golden nugget. I thought he was joking. Mrs. Grass is all about the golden nugget. It’s what makes the soup taste so yummy good. And makes you feel better. He brought me the box and showed me there wasn’t a golden nugget anymore. The picture above shows the golden nugget, but my new box didn’t have it. I immediately Googled it and learned the company got rid of the golden nugget earlier this year. What the h#%l were they thinking??? Put the golden nugget back…..really. I’m sick and now this.

Of course the company wants you to know that it tastes the same. That might be a good way to spin it, but it didn’t taste the same. It just tasted like box soup. Not yummy. 😦 And I am sure that is why my cold has lingered. The little golden nugget would have made me all better by now.

About lenalee91

Wife, mother, avid reader and maybe one day an author!!

Posted on December 17, 2016, in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Mimosa’s help everything dear. Luckily I haven’t caught anything yet.

    Like

  2. How very jolly annoying! Both the cold and the (lack of) nugget. Guido caught a cold a few weeks back and then generously passed it to me. I swear by Vitamin C and Zinc lozenges. Not as good a nugget.
    Stay warm.
    JP

    Like

    • I’ll have to try the zinc lozenges. I may have to take my Vitamin C with a little Champagne, courtesy of my doctors at work. Do you think Mimosa’s would help a lingering cold :)? Hugs to you and Guido!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Going Gently

Moments in life...

myhusband&i

two guys making out & trying to make it

I Should Be Laughing

Moments in life...

Art By Yukari

Moments in life...

The Closet Professor

Moments in life...

Just Joshin

Moments in life...

