A Quiet Weekend

Do you ever have one of those rare weekends where you stay home and do absolutely nothing? If you’re anything like me, those don’t happen very often and when they do, you almost feel guilty that you didn’t really accomplish all that much. This past weekend was one of those for us. On Friday, before leaving for work, I had put a pork loin in the crock pot with some Sticky Fingers Carolina BBQ Sauce…yummy, and my husband and son did the yard work that would normally be done on the weekend. Fridays are usually one of the days that we will eat out, but my husband had gotten off work early, so he started in on the yard and it was done before dinner. That left Saturday free and he was looking at his list to try to figure out what he wanted to do next. Washing the cars was on the list, so he figured he would tackle those on Saturday.

teaWhen he woke up, he said that his throat was scratchy and a little sore. As the day wore on, he began to talk like he gargled with gravel, and while he wasn’t running a fever, he didn’t feel good. So he made a beeline for his comfy chair and dozed off. Now usually, when the hubby is sick, he can be needy, so I tend to be busier. That wasn’t the case this time. I made him a cup of tea once in a while and offered to make him soup, but he said he didn’t have much of an appetite, so I found myself with time on my hands and not sure what to do. I needed to vacuum, but hubby was sleeping, and that can be done one night after work. I read for a while and searched the web for recipes for vegetables. Yes, I am still trying to find ways to cook veggies that I will eat :). And I did get all the laundry done. But mostly I just relaxed and enjoyed the quiet time. Well, as quiet as it is with a pug and a husband snoring in the background, but you get the idea.

About lenalee91

Wife, mother, avid reader and maybe one day an author!!

Posted on September 20, 2016, in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What in hell is,a,quite weekend???? I could us one of those.

    Like

  2. I want that sauce. Sorry – hope hubby is better!
    JP

    Like

    • The sauces are yummy. The Carolina one is my favorite. Tell Guido to create a sauce. I’m sure it would be delicious.

      Hubby is still not feeling well and today was his day for jury duty. I thought they would toss him out at the first sneeze or cough, but nope, he was picked on the first round and during questioning, both defense attorneys said no. It still took most of the day. It seems hubby has developed allergies. At least it isn’t the flu.

      Like

Leave a Reply

pinkiebag

A blog all about my love of cups of tea and dairy free food

UptightPrettyGirl

Lifestyle and Fun

Meg Kem Magic

Discover the magic of beauty!

Going Gently

Moments in life...

myhusband&i

two guys making out & trying to make it

I Should Be Laughing

Moments in life...

Art By Yukari

Moments in life...

Just Joshin

Moments in life...

