And There Is Tartan–Shout Out To JP

As I searched for my family history, I mentioned in a previous post that one of my Great-grandfather’s x 5 was a Revolutionary War Patriot who immigrated from Scotland and fought on the side of the Colonies, North Carolina to be precise. Jean Paul replied that there must be tartan and he was right. After a search for the Clan Balfour, I learned that each tartan has what is considered the Ancient colors and the Modern Colors. I also learned that there were everyday tartans and ones used for hunting. So here are the tartans that represents the Balfour family:

Balfour Blue and the Balfour Clan Crest:

Tartan

 

 

 

 

 

Hunting Tartan (Below)

Hunting Tartan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I know that there are many variations of the tartans, but these were the two that I came across most often in my research. It has been fun learning the history of my family came from.  And thank you JP, I have tartan and I am sure that there are other clans represented in my family. I will be looking for those as well. There are also castles, some of which still exist today.

About lenalee91

Wife, mother, avid reader and maybe one day an author!!

Posted on June 6, 2016, in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. As well as another terrific idea…
    JP

    Like

  2. My sofa would look great in that!!!
    JP

    Like

Leave a Reply

pinkiebag

A blog all about my love of cups of tea and dairy free food

UptightPrettyGirl

Have fun reading. Message me any time.

Meg Kem Magic

Discover the magic of beauty!

Going Gently

Moments in life...

myhusband&i

two guys making out & trying to make it

I Should Be Laughing

Moments in life...

Art By Yukari

Moments in life...

The Closet Professor

Moments in life...

Just Joshin

Moments in life...

