When Your Boss Tells You About A Job Opening…At Another Location

On a Friday, with less that 30 minutes left before the start of the weekend, my boss asked if she could come up to discuss something with me. Usually this ends up with me being told something negative, so I really wasn’t looking forward to the conversation. I was already on overtime, so I was wishing that I had left earlier in the day. When she comes up, she tells me that one of the managers at the main location is leaving for a another job. She says, “I don’t want to see you go, but this is an opportunity for you to move up,” And then she says, “Think about it, because next Friday, the big boss will be here, and expect him to discuss this with you.”

So of course, she is making me go hmm about a lot of things. The first is why me? Yes, I am currently a supervisor at one of the community locations, but I work for a company that was taken over by her company, so I would be quitting one company to go to work for another. The second is do I want to leave a 15 minute drive in the suburbs to drive 30 minutes into the city, pay tolls, pay parking and worry about being mugged on my way to and from my car everyday? No, I am not exaggerating. The city is not the safest and several people have been robbed and worse in the area that I would be working.

Another thought is am I the only one that is being encouraged to look elsewhere for employment and the answer is no. Apparently during our recent annual review process, several employees, myself included, were told that we were wonderful at our job, but there didn’t appear to be any growth in our department, so maybe we should start thinking about opportunities outside our department or the company altogether. In other words, start looking for another job. I couldn’t grasp why we were being told that we were doing a wonderful job, but we should look for another one. I received a 9.8 out of a possible 10 on my evaluation, so it wasn’t as if I was one of the slackers of the department. And I was in good company too. The other employees encouraged to look elsewhere were the head nurse, another nurse who had just completed her BSN (Bachelor’s of Nursing) and the medical assistant. We each did different things in the department, so what was the reason behind this?

I talked this over with my husband to see what his take on the situation was and he said it probably was something that reflected back on her evaluation. Like what I asked? His response was like does she encourage her employees to improve or move up within the organization? Usually? No, but could this be the reason? Yes, because a week after this conversation, my company sent out an Employee Satisfaction Survey, and one of the sections was about “your” department manager and a series of questions. She would have failed every question, but because she “encouraged” us to look for better opportunities, she wouldn’t be a total failure. So the only reason that she appeared to “motivate” us to look for something better was because she was being evaluated on if she had done so.

But she has failed at her attempt at motivating her employees. She showed us that she really doesn’t want to know if we like our jobs or if we want to move up. She is quick to blame someone when something doesn’t go right 100% of the time, but never praises us when we go above and beyond. When you bust your a%# to do good and it’s the negatives that keep getting attention, then employees might start looking for something else. As one of my co-workers said, “If you keep being told to look elsewhere, eventually your employees will take that advice and it shouldn’t be a surprise.” When you don’t feel that what you do matters or is no longer appreciated, it might be time to say goodbye.

About lenalee91

Wife, mother, avid reader and maybe one day an author!!

Posted on December 30, 2015, in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Going Gently

Moments in life...

myhusband&i

two guys making out & trying to make it

I Should Be Laughing

Moments in life...

Art By Yukari

Moments in life...

The Closet Professor

Moments in life...

Just Joshin

Moments in life...

