Sometimes It Really Is Karma

Let me start by admitting up front that I am not someone who goes out to shop the holiday sales. I don’t like crowds and I like them even less when I am shopping. I go to the grocery store early on the weekends to avoid crowds. I understand that some people make a game out of holiday shopping. My sister-in-law is one who gets in line hours before a store opens and rushes into the store for all of her must have items. Then she proceeds to return 75% of what she bought over the next week. It’s the rush for her and apparently many others.  For me, I prefer to stay home and curl up with a cup of hot chocolate, a blanket, and if the weather cooperates, a fire in the fireplace and enjoy the quiet. There is absolutely nothing that we need that would make me go out into the frenzy.

But this year, there appears to be less frenzy. Many stores opened on Thursday, so when the reporters showed up to report on the shoppers, the stores were pretty much empty. I couldn’t help but notice that 3 out of 4 Baltimore news stations showed up to report live from the same Target store. Really? You couldn’t go somewhere else for another perspective? I can’t say where the 4th Baltimore station was. I really had no interest in clicking over to see where they were reporting from. Chances are they too were at the same store. My son remarked that their were more reporters trying to find a story than shoppers looking for a bargain. And they seemed disappointed that there weren’t any crowds or anyone needing to push and shove their way to the next bargain. They did have video of a fight that broke out at a food court somewhere in the country, but other than that, this year’s coverage seemed to be lacking in excitement.

I’m sure tomorrow’s story will be that sales were down or less than expected. (Kudos to those companies that chose to remain closed and let their employees spend time with their families.) Maybe those that were open should go back to being closed on the actual holiday.  Sales were usually brisk and it was always good for video of shoppers that behaved badly. Regardless, I’ll still be at home. Enjoying the holiday lights and the silence.

 

About lenalee91

Wife, mother, avid reader and maybe one day an author!!

Posted on November 27, 2015, in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

pinkiebag

A blog all about my love of cups of tea and dairy free food

UptightPrettyGirl

Lifestyle and Fun

Meg Kem Magic

Discover the magic of beauty!

Going Gently

Moments in life...

myhusband&i

two guys making out & trying to make it

I Should Be Laughing

Moments in life...

Art By Yukari

Moments in life...

Just Joshin

Moments in life...

